I. What: 
    This year in ceramics I made a ton. Most of my pieces are fairly large, and are thrown of the wheel. They all are smooth with no wheel marks and are glazed in a couple colors each. And most, but not all of them have a flared lip and a vase form.
    I have made a teapot, many bowls, plates, pitchers, a mug, pie plates, a cake plate etc.
II. How: 
    I made most of these projects on the wheel during one period. Some of them required two pieces put together, such as my cake plate, and others required a handle to be attached, a lid to be made, or a spout to be added for my teapot, lidded project etc. 
    For each project I typically pull up a tall cylinder and depending on what I am making the widtch and height will vary. Then from there I shape the clay accordingly, always cutting the lip to keep it centered. 
    The next day I foot them all, and attach whatever is necessary, then once they are dry I bisque them and glaze them.  
III. Why: 
    My theme for ceramics this year is that all my projects use more natural colors such as blues, whites, turquoise and greens, that also give them a more practical feel, and they were all created for a more specific use. I wanted them all to be used day to day. Not just looked at on display. 



Leave a Reply.